Featured image for Erawan National Park

Erawan National Park

Quick Navigation

Erawan National Park is part of the Tenasserim Range located in the western part of Thailand. It covers an area of 212 square miles (550 sq km). It was established in 1975 as the 12th national park created in Thailand.

Erawan National Park features four separate caves which include Mi, Phartat, Rua, and Wang Bahdan. Another tourist spot is the hill Khao Nom Nang which reaches a peak of 2,467 feet (752 M). The name translates, “female breast mountain,” which is derived from the profile of the mountain which looks like a woman laying down and her breast creates the hill. The main draw to the park is the Erawan Falls.


Erawan Falls is the highlight of the national park. It is a seven-tiered waterfall that is majestic to look at and pleasant to get in and swim. The falls staircase downward through a tropical jungle setting creating an incredibly peaceful scene.

Erawan National Park Trails

Hiking amongst the forest and along the waterfall is the primary reason that people come to visit Erawan National Park.

Park Protection

Erawan National Park was created by the Thailand government to protect Erawan Falls.  This is one of the most beautiful waterfalls in the country.  It was imperative to establish the protected area to prevent human encroachment.  The park also protects the surrounding wilderness which is home to a variety of flora and fauna.

Erawan Highlights

  • Seeing and exploring Erawan Falls

Park Map