Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park

Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park is located in three different prefectures that include Kanagawa, Shizuoka, and Yamanashi. The city of Tokyo looks out toward Mount Fuji is counted as part of the park area.

The national park is spread across 474 square miles (1,227 sq km). It is home to Fuji Five Lakes, Hakone, Izu Islands, the Izu Peninsula, and Mount Fuji. This national park is unique compared to most parks; it represents a collection of different areas versus the traditional singularly enclosed area.

Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park is rich in biodiversity featuring natural hot springs, lakes, mountainous lakes, Mount Fuji, coastlines, and approximately 1,000 volcanic islands. Vegetation reflects the diversity ranging from mountainous trees to subtropical plant life found on the islands.

The national park is grouped into four key areas which include Mount Fuji area, Hakone area, Izu Peninsula, and the Izu Islands.


  • Climbing Mount Fuji
  • Seeing Mount Fuji on a blue sky day, with fall colors, or cherry blossom season
  • Views of Mount Fuji across the Fuji Five lakes
  • View of Mount Fuji across Lake Ashi in the Hakone area
  • Alligators in the Izu Peninsula area at the Atagawa Gardens
  • Scuba diving amongst the Izu Islands

Mount Fuji is probably one of the top tourist destinations for the country of Japan. The good news is that with its close proximity to the city of Tokyo, it is easy for visitors to see. Drives around the region provide a number of scenic views of the majestic mountain.

Mount Fuji is the highest volcano in Japan reaching a peak of 12,389 feet (3,776 m). It is recognized as an exemplary example of a symmetrical cone shaped volcano. It is one of the three holy mountains of Japan and it is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.



Encyclopedia Britannica, Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park, https://www.britannica.com/place/Fuji-Hakone-Izu-National-Park, retrieved August 2019.

Japan Guide, Hakone, https://www.japan-guide.com/e/e5200.html, retrieved August 2019

Izuhakone Railway, Where to go in Fuji-Hakone-Izu, https://www.fujihakoneizu.com/, retrieved August 2019

Ministry of the Environment, Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park, https://www.env.go.jp/en/nature/nps/park/fujihakone/index.html, retrieved Aug 2019.

National Parks of Japan, Fuji-Hakone-Izu Naitonal Park, https://www.japan.travel/national-parks/parks/fuji-hakone-izu/, retrieved August 2019