Vatnajokull National Park

Iceland Europe icon Europe

Vatnajokull National Park is located in the eastern thru southeastern part of Iceland. It covers an area of 5,459.9 square miles (14,141 sq km) accounting for about 14% of the country and serving as Europe’s second-largest national park.

It is home to Vatnajokull, which outside of the Arctic, is the largest glacier in Europe covering an area of 3,127 square miles (8,100 sq km).

Vatnajokull National park is a special place with landscapes that are hard to find rivals and provide visitors with unique experiences from geothermal features that interact with rivers, glaciers, mountains, and volcanic activity.

The park is divided into four regions: Norther Territory, Eastern Territory, Southern Territory, and Western Territory with each having its own unique facets of nature to experience.

Northern Territory: features the Jokulsarljufur canyon, Askja caldera, and the north-wester part of the Vatnajokull glacier.

Eastern Territory: features the Kverkfjoll mountains and the north-eastern part of the Vatnajökull glacier.

Southern Territory: features the wilderness area of Lonsoraefi, Lomagnupur mountain, and the south-eastern part of the Vatnjökull glacier.

Western Territory:  features the Lakagigar craters and the south-western part of Vatnajökull.

Vatnajokull Highlights:

Vatnajökull National Park is a national park that provides visitors with an awe-inspiring experience where rivers, mountains, glaciers, ice caves, volcanic, and geothermal features collide together into one of the most amazing experiences with nature.

Each of the different regions of the park offers a variety of experiences and worthy of exploration.


Vatnajokull Highlights

  • Dettifoss waterfall
  • Vatnajökull glacier


Photo Gallery